Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories by Lewis Carroll

7505716Title: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories
Author: Lewis Carroll
Pages: 1160
Year: 2010
Publisher: Barnes & Noble (Collectible Editions Series)
Time taken to read: 2 years, 9 months, 22 days
Rating: N/A

Goodreads synopsisDown the rabbit-hole and through the looking-glass! Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories features all of the best-known works of Lewis Carroll, including the novels Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass, with the classic illustrations of John Tenniel. This compilation also features Carroll’s novels Sylvie and Bruno and Sylvie and Bruno Concluded, his masterpiece of nonsense verse “The Hunting of the Snark,” and miscellaneous poems, short stories, puzzles, and acrostics.

This book was a gift from my ex-girlfriend on my 18th birthday. I started reading it soon after that. I am now 21. Yes, this took me a very, very long time to get through. It has been listed on my Goodreads account as “currently reading” essentially since I created my account. I’m not giving it a rating because I have no judgment to pass on a collection of writing this old. Obviously the styles are completely different from what would be published today, so I can’t really give criticism.
I will admit that I skimmed quite a few sections of this book, either because they were practically written in Old English or because I couldn’t make sense of them at all. However, most of the writings were really wonderful. I had never heard of Sylvie and Bruno before reading it here, and although I couldn’t really follow any sort of plot most of the time, it seemed to be a really sweet story. And there were some really random and fun pieces, like riddles and puzzles and weird essays on things like “how to write a letter”. Basically this is a really nice collection to take your time through. As a long-time fan of Alice in Wonderland, it was really cool to gain an understanding of the full extent of Carroll’s career as a writer.

Leave a Reply

