A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

18131Title: A Wrinkle in Time
Author: Madeleine L’Engle
Pages: 211
Year: 1962
Publisher: Yearling Books (Random House)
Time taken to read: 8 hours
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads synopsis: It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. “Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract”. Meg’s father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin, and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?

This was one of those books that supposedly everyone reads in middle school but I just never happened to be in a class that read it, so I always wondered about it. I was at my mom’s house for Thanksgiving, and my mom had it in her living room, which is not odd since she teaches middle school. I had finished the book I brought to read during the holiday so I picked this one up Friday morning and finished it that evening.

Mostly I just thought this book was really weird. It sort of felt like the author was making it up as she went along and was very bored and kept putting down whatever random strange thing she thought of next. It was certainly a very creative story, as were a lot of the descriptions and things. I also really liked Meg as a character. I loved her anger. I could feel it, and I can imagine so many middle school girls feeling it too. In a good way, of course. She was angry about something she cared about. She was passionate and potentially inspiring. She really seemed complex in a way that other young teenage female characters are not.

My favorite part was when they first land on the planet Camazotz and they realize that all the children are playing with the same rhythm. That is a freaky image. I liked the way the enemy here was a lack of uniqueness and independent thought. I feel like this book is full of good messages for young readers. And the science-y stuff was cool too. The edition I read had a little piece in the back about the science behind the ideas in A Wrinkle in Time, and I learned a little something about black holes and String Theory. Although it wasn’t amazing, I definitely see myself giving this book to my kids in the future.

1 comment
  1. I understand this book being a little confusing! It definitely handles some complex theories for the audience that it is targeted too. I’d recommend reading several of her other books that deal with the Murry family. I loved all of them (I read them in elementary schools so it’s been a while, but I might have to go borrow them from my parent’s house now!)

Leave a Reply

