Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

23341894Title: Every Last Word
Author: Tamara Ireland Stone
Pages: 355
Year: 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Time taken to read: 8 days
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads synopsisSamantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off. Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist. Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

Wow. Just. Wow.

I got this book from the library a couple of weeks ago. I knew that it was about a girl with Pure-O (Purely Obsessional) Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, which intrigued me because I have the same disorder, or at least something similar. I thought that Every Last Word was a little slow at first, but I was still really into it because I loved the way it wasn’t just about her OCD. At some points, it just seemed like a typical teen-falling-in-love story, which is important because mental disorders are not a person’s whole life. Normal things happen to mentally ill people every day, and they deal with normal teenage problems just like everyone else. Maybe the scenes of AJ and Sam kissing went on a little too long, and I’m so over guys who play guitar, but I bought the relationship at least.

I really can’t go into what I like most about this book because it is a huge spoiler that would completely ruin the book for you if you haven’t read it yet, and it is an incredible twist. Once I got to the part that reveals it, I read like a maniac until I had finished the book and came straight here to write about it. But I can’t really write about it, because you have to experience it for yourself. It’s so good and so heartbreaking that I was nearly in tears, and I never cry at books besides Harry Potter. I was tempted to be annoyed by the fluffiness of the poetry group and the improbability of a number of things, but the ending made up for anything that I disliked about the book. I want to say that the whole Poet’s Corner group seems so unreal, like that would never happen, but maybe that’s just me being cynical because I would have killed for a group like that in high school. I don’t like poetry all that much, but I really think I would have fit right in with them. Something like that would have really helped me. God, I’m just in so much pain for Caroline right now, and she’s just a fictional character. Just, please read this book. That’s all I can say.

Also, WordPress has just informed me that this is my 50th post. Yay for books. I don’t really know what else to say about this. I’m feeling very emotional.

1 comment
  1. Congratulations on your 50th post! That is amazing. Also, I really enjoyed reading your take on this book. Great review!

Leave a Reply

