Hope and Help for Your Nerves by Claire Weekes

194383Title: Hope and Help for your Nerves
Author: Claire Weekes
Pages: 224
Year: 1972
Publisher: Quid Publishing
Time taken to read: 2 months, 6 days
Rating: 2/5

Goodreads synopsisA proven program that desensitizes over-wrought nerves and eases feelings of anxiety, panic, and depression by using a variety of breathing and relaxation exercises. “I recommend it with my whole heart.” — Ann Landers

Err, okay, ignore the Goodreads synopsis, because it doesn’t make any sense and isn’t actually that relevant. This book basically explains what anxiety is and what panic attacks are and where they come from, and from what I remember (I kinda finished this book a month ago), Dr. Weekes does a lot of reassuring you that you are not alone in your struggles while making sure not to invalidate the fact that what’s happening to you is not normal, which I think is really important. The first half of the book is kind of just about the physical sensations that occur when you’re feeling anxious or having a panic attack, and the second half gets into the emotional and psychological parts. I personally didn’t find any of it helpful because I’ve been through enough therapy to know that I have anxiety, I probably always will, and the only thing you can do is to try to be mindful and stay in the present and wait for it to pass. Or take a nap and avoid your feelings. I only read this book because my mom calls it her “anxiety Bible,” and she sort of thrust it upon me, and I figured it would be fitting to read it while in 24/7 therapy. I’m not quite sure what she got out of it, but my life is certainly no different after reading this.

My next few reviews will probably be rather short, as is this one and the one before, because I took notes on all the books I was reading while in treatment, and then somehow I lost that paper, so I’m going off my memory, which is absolutely atrocious. Bear with me–before you know it I’ll be up to date, and then I’ll be reading again and I’ll have a lot more to say.

Leave a Reply

