Allegiant by Veronica Roth

17383918Title: Allegiant
Author: Veronica Roth
Pages: 544
Year: 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen (HarperCollins)
Time taken to read: 8 days
Rating: 4/5

Goodreads synopsis: The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories. But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

I hate The Hunger Games a lot. The first book was okay, the second was garbage, and the third could have been okay if the ending hadn’t completely ruined everything. And the premise was ridiculous in the first place, so there’s that. I feel quite the opposite, however, about the Divergent series. Everyone fits themselves into a box (think the song “Little Boxes“), except for a couple of special snowflakes who just can’t make themselves be only one thing, and for some reason that’s evil, which sounds dumb, but they sort of explain it all in Allegiant, and I was like, Oh, things were actually for a reason and not just because it sounded good but it actually makes no sense. Cool. But anyway, I thought Divergent was okay, Insurgent sucked, and this book was like 500 pages of garbage and 40 pages of redemption and fantasticness. And since this book has been out for two and a half years and now the movie is out (which I will be going to see this weekend and I swear to god if they changed the ending I will physically fight someone), I have no issue including spoilers: TRIS DIES!!!!! THE BITCH IS DEAD!!!! GONE!! FOREVER!! It’s amazing. I hated her so much, and Roth actually KILLS HER and it makes me so happy. I felt like Roth kinda went overboard with the killing, but this death was GREAT because I know I was totally expecting a really sappy ending where Tris and Tobias live their lives in or out of the city and there would be a really cheesy epilogue where their kids are running around in their front yard and blah blah, but SHE’S F*CKING DEAD! I don’t even care that there were multiple perspectives, which y’all know I can’t stand! It was necessary because her perspective has to disappear. I really thought Roth was going to revive her somehow (I can’t stand fake-out deaths either), but she stuck to it and I am so pleased. I don’t even have anything else to say about the rest of the book. I don’t care. Everything else sucked. Tris actually dies, so this series is officially great.

I guess I should say something about why I hate Tris, which is kind of hard to put into words because it’s mostly just a vibe, but I’ll try. I think Tris is weirdly manipulative when it comes to her relationship with Tobias. It feels like she’s always acting grumpy so he’ll ask her what’s wrong, and then she lashes out, and then they fight, but he’s just confused and also grumpy, and but she knows what she’s doing to him and it’s obnoxious. I wish she’d just be real with him. But also Tobias is annoying, and he kind of does the same thing, so, oh well. OH, that reminds me: we get that Tobias was abused as a child. We know. But do we have to hear about it so often, and in such pathetically dramatic language? Don’t think I don’t feel bad for him, because of course I do, but literary-wise, it is really annoying for him to allude to a belt snapping and then sit and feel sorry for himself on every other page. Anyway, as I was saying, Tris sort of sits around feeling sorry for herself a lot too, and I get it, I totally do, but again, literary-wise, she needs to pick herself up and get into some action, because the story has to move, and Tris does not move the story at all. Until the end. When she dies. Did I mention she dies? It’s great.

Yeesh, this has been my most unprofessional review yet. But Tris is dead, so yeah. Insert confetti emojis.

2 comments
  1. I love this review 😂, I haven’t even read the trilogy but I watched divergent (oh no she didn’t…) in my defence I didn’t know they were based on books I just went on a whim and Tris really got under my skin! She’s so melodramatic 😅

  2. Pingback: Kate Likes Books

Leave a Reply

