Daytripper by Fábio Moon & Gabriel Bá

8477057Title: Daytripper
Author: Fábio Moon & Gabriel Bá
Pages: 256
Year: 2011
Publisher: Vertigo (DC Comics)
Time taken to read: 3 weeks, 1 day
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads synopsis: What are the most important days of your life? Meet Brás de Oliva Domingos. The miracle child of a world-famous Brazilian writer, Brás spends his days penning other people’s obituaries and his nights dreaming of becoming a successful author himself—writing the end of other people’s stories, while his own has barely begun. But on the day that life begins, would he even notice? Does it start at 21 when he meets the girl of his dreams? Or at 11, when he has his first kiss? Is it later in his life when his first son is born? Or earlier when he might have found his voice as a writer? Each day in Brás’s life is like a page from a book. Each one reveals the people and things who have made him who he is: his mother and father, his child and his best friend, his first love and the love of his life. And like all great stories, each day has a twist he’ll never see coming…

My high school English teacher mailed me this book while I was in residential. I don’t have much experience with graphic novels, but I really enjoyed this one. Even though the main character is male and from Brazil, I related to him strongly because technically he was writing, but he didn’t exactly have a passion for obituaries, in the same way that I’m editing, sure, but I’m not passionate about whatever random topics I get from my pseudo-freelancing job, which range from Queen Elizabeth I to the average temperatures in apartment buildings. I’m not really sure yet how I feel about stories that are kind of told out of order, but I thought the patches of Brás’s timeline that the story used and the order they were put in made learning about Brás really interesting. I think I felt confused for a lot of the beginning, but still I really cared about the characters, which I think says a lot about the storytelling.

As for the theme, this book kind of reminded me that I only get one chance at life, and it could end at any time. (I should make the most of every day! I think to myself as I lie in bed on my laptop.) And I thought the images with all their vibrant colors and exotic places were so inspiring. (I want to take a life-changing trip! I think to myself as I pay my student loans online and cry.) Maybe it was because I was in treatment and my teacher wrote a really sweet letter to me on the inside that may or may not have made me cry more than once, but I really felt something while reading this.

I dunno, man. There’s something about books given to you by a teacher. It makes you feel special, and somehow it feels like the book was meant for you all along.

Leave a Reply

