Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

26109391Title: Highly Illogical Behavior
Author: John Corey Whaley
Pages: 256
Year: 2016
Publisher: Dial Books (Penguin Random House)
Time taken to read: 24 hours
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him. Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But how can she prove she deserves a spot there? Solomon is the answer. Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa thrusts herself into his life, introducing him to her charming boyfriend Clark and confiding her fears in him. Soon, all three teens are far closer than they thought they’d be, and when their facades fall down, their friendships threaten to collapse, as well.

Highly Illogical Behavior is definitely one of my favorites so far this year. I have struggled with agoraphobia myself (yes, my dear readers, I have a lot of issues), so I was excited about this one, and it definitely lived up to its expectations. I read this nonstop yesterday, with occasional pauses for Freeform’s Harry Potter marathon. So, obviously at some point Sol had to find out about Lisa’s essay, and I knew it would be a big moment, so that’s what I was racing through the pages for. Lisa is just mean, in my opinion. Everything she does is for herself. I can feel her thinking about how awesome she is while talking Sol down from his panic attacks, and it makes me sick. And it makes for a great character. Clark is my favorite though. He’s the chillest guy ever, and his friendship with Sol is so precious. I’m not sure how I feel about Sol’s parents. I feel like I’ve read so many books where either the kid is messed up or the parents are messed up, and in reality, if anyone is messed up, it’s typically both the kids and the parents. But in this case, there wasn’t room for messed up parents, because the focus was on the friendships, so that makes sense. In any case, this book was just really honest, and I appreciate that. And it has more character development than any other book I’ve ever read. But even by the end, I still feel like Lisa has a long way to go before she actually becomes a nice person. I want to know more about how their lives ended up, like where they ended up going to college and such, but I guess it’s up to me to decide for myself. That’s what I like about a lot of YA books. The reader gets to interpret so much, and really, their stories get to end any way I want them to.

And speaking of great YA books, my Barnes & Noble in Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia is hosting its very first Teen B-fest next week! It’s from June 10th to the 12th, and we’re going to have YA author signings and trivia and a bunch of other events, and you could win ARCs! It’s going to be super fun, and I’m going to be there, either working or hanging out and stalking YA authors, so come say hi!

Leave a Reply

