Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling

29069989Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Author: J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Pages: 328
Year: 2016
Publisher: Little, Brown UK
Time taken to read: 4 days
Rating: N/A

Goodreads synopsis: It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

For those of you who don’t know, this book chronicles the events of Harry Potter and his son Albus, nineteen years after the Battle of Hogwarts. It’s the script of the play that premiered in London on July 30th, which has confused a lot of people, but yes, it is not a normal book. I don’t particularly like reading scripts, but I think it worked very well here, and it was very easy to visualize what would be happening on a stage. I had the pleasure of working at my lovely Barnes & Noble in Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, on the night of the release. I got to spend several exhausting hours at a table with a Sorting Hat, sorting people into their Houses. I couldn’t buy the book for myself, but I did spend a couple days sitting on the third floor reading a copy and then placing it back on the shelf for someone else to buy.

I don’t feel up to giving this a star review because it’s a script and it’s Harry Potter and I just don’t know how to judge it. I sort of feel like I don’t want to accept it as the truth of what happens in Harry’s future. It’s one possible path, sure, but I don’t know that it’s what happens in my version of his life after Hogwarts. You could argue that I don’t get to have my own version because they’re not my characters, but I don’t think I’m hurting anyone by saying that this isn’t necessarily what I think happens to a bunch of people who aren’t even real.

In any case, if we’re just going with what happens in The Cursed Child like normal people who read books, I thought there were a lot of things about it that were too…”of course.” I can’t think of the word I want, but it’s like how of course Albus is in Slytherin and of course he becomes best friends with Malfoy’s kid. Stuff that’s so ironic that of course they were going to do that. So opposite of the obvious that it’s obvious. I think Rose should have been in Ravenclaw, and Delphi and how she came to be in the world is weird as hell. And I know that this is just because it’s a script and a play can’t really be longer than a couple hours, but everything got wrapped up so fast and so easily, which was a little frustrating. Also, didn’t we tell J. K. Rowling that the whole Time Turner thing didn’t really make sense? So why did she make this all about Time Turners? Yet, with all my complaints, I think it’s really cool that this exists. I don’t feel like it’s necessary for me to own it or read it more than like twice in my lifetime, but I will probably read it again.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

