This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

15777621Title: This Song Will Save Your Life
Author: Leila Sales
Pages: 288
Year: 2013
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Macmillan)
Time taken to read: 3 days
Rating: 4/5

Goodreads synopsis: Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing. Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, This Song Will Save Your Life is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

This is another one of those books that’s been on my to-read list for like my entire life. By the end of the first chapter I loved Elise because her thought process is too much like mine. I love that she’s like, you know what, even the nice girls are mean, and that’s just too much for me in this cruel world, so I’m just gonna end it. She’s so calm and methodical about attempting suicide, and to me it was funny because I’ve totally been there. I also got super excited at her comment on being pro gun control! And I love how obsessed she is with being good at things, and being good at them quickly, because again, I’m the same way. Honestly Elise was a perfect character until the thing with Alex and the poetry castle. That almost completely ruined her for me, because that was the most messed up thing ever.

I’m not a big music person (except when it comes to Nicki Minaj and Disney soundtracks), so the whole DJing/music aspect was a little lost on me because I didn’t know any of the songs they were talking about, but it was still interesting. Vicky is a great character and a great person, and I love the representation of amazing heavy girls. And Char is obviously the worst in every way, which was why it was so satisfying when she uncovers his real life at the end and realizes he is not worth it at all. I think this book teaches a lot of great lessons about what’s really important in life, and it could be really useful to high school girls who are feeling left out and invisible. I probably would be giving it five stars if it was about something like writing instead of music, because then I could identify even more with Elise, but that’s just my personal thing.

Anyway, happy Friday, readers! I am working on writing one of these reviews for a manuscript sent to me by a literary agency as sort of a test for an internship there, so I must get back to that quickly, because it’s due in about 24 hours. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

