The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

23492671Title: The Rosie Effect
Author: Graeme Simsion
Pages: 352
Year: 2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Time taken to read: 5 days
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads synopsisThe Wife Project is complete, and Don and Rosie are happily married and living in New York. But they’re about to face a new challenge. Rosie is pregnant. Don sets about learning the protocols of becoming a father, but his unusual research style gets him into trouble with the law. Fortunately his best friend Gene is on hand to offer advice: he’s left Claudia and moved in with Don and Rosie. As Don tries to schedule time for pregnancy research, getting Gene and Claudia back together, servicing the industrial refrigeration unit that occupies half his apartment, helping Dave the Baseball Fan save his business and staying on the right side of Lydia the social worker, he almost misses the biggest problem of all: he might lose Rosie when she needs him most.

I didn’t tear through this book quite as fast as I did its predecessor, The Rosie Project, but I still loved every second of it. I didn’t expect to love this quite one as much, but every main character and secondary character is so incredible, so alive, and once again I am really impressed with Simsion’s writing.I think this one started out a little slow compared to The Rosie Project, but once it picked up, it had me on the edge of my seat while laughing hysterically. Like I said in my last review, I have a bit of a bias because I sort of have my own Don Tillman, but I really believe that these books are amazing separate from my personal connection to them. My Don is actually reading The Rosie Project now, and he is loving it so far, which I honestly didn’t expect, because this is so not his style. However, he makes himself laugh all day long, so it stands to reason that Don would make him laugh too. Anyway, I was telling him how much I love being in the world of this book, and he pointed out that that makes no sense because The Rosie Effect takes place on Earth in the present time with no sci-fi or fantasy elements, so I already do live in that world. So I revised my statement: I love being in Don Tillman’s mind. He is so freaking genuine it melts my heart, and something about him feels comfortable and safe. I never ever EVER buy books, but I’ve been considering buying these because I feel certain I will read them again. This is really an emotional one for me–seriously, as I got to the last hundred pages, I was tearing up on the subway. I really cared about these characters, and they are making me look at my own life in a different light. Thank you, Mr. Simsion, from the bottom of my heart, for telling Don and Rosie’s story.

Leave a Reply

