Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753Title: Eleanor & Park
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Pages: 320
Year: 2013
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Time taken to read: 8 days
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads synopsis: Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor. Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park. Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

This book reminded me why I don’t like romance/love stories, and the reason is that I just don’t. I really cared very deeply about Eleanor and all her siblings and her mom, and I was very interested in what was going to happen to them all. And I liked Park well enough, and I really liked his mom in particular. I just don’t enjoy pages and pages of these kids describing how cute they think the other is. I don’t care. I was really happy for the two of them, but their relationship was not interesting. I liked the diversity that appeared not only through race but also in size: Eleanor is heavy. And I don’t think Park even mentions that fact once, which is pretty cool, I think. I can imagine a lot of teen girls reading this and feeling like they can finally relate, and that’s what YA is all about.

I think it’s notable that I didn’t hate the alternating perspectives. I liked getting to listen to them both worrying about what the other one is thinking. It was sweet. And they both felt very realistic to me, in their thoughts and their actions. I think Rowell can really put herself in the teenage mindset. And I was satisfied with the ending, I think. Spoiler: I thought it was odd that she took so long to write to him. And I would have liked her to have tried harder to help her siblings as well. My littlest sister is eight, and I thought of her whenever Maisie entered the scene. I just can’t help but feel like if I had been Eleanor, I never would have left that child alone in that house. It shouldn’t have been Eleanor’s job to protect her, but it sort of was, at that point. And it seemed like the kids were safe in terms of their lives at least, but…I don’t know. I would have done more. But the focus was supposed to be the love story, and that’s why I don’t like love stories.

Anyway, I hope you all have a wonderful Halloween! I will be closing at B&N tonight dressed (roughly) as my princess twin Merida. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

