The Last Star by Rick Yancey

16131489Title: The Last Star
Author: Rick Yancey
Pages: 338
Year: 2016
Publisher: G. P. Putman’s Sons for Young Readers (Penguin)
Time taken to read: 4 days
Rating: 4/5

Goodreads synopsis: The enemy is Other. The enemy is us. They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us. But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves. In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

I think I had the same problem with this book that I did with the last one, The Infinite Sea, where I don’t think I fully understand what happened. It sounded to me like the aliens put false memories in humans to make the humans think that they were members of this alien race and that their alien consciousnesses were put into these humans to wake up at a certain point in time to begin the Waves, but the actual aliens were long gone by this point. Either that or the aliens were watching from the big Manhattan-sized spaceship that Cassie ends up at. I had really lost track at this point of what the green light around people’s heads were supposed to be and whether it was good or bad if a person had a green light around them, and whether it was aliens or trained alien fighters who were trying to take out people without green lights. And I definitely did not follow the steps of their plan where Ringer pretends to be dead and breathes through a hose. Why couldn’t she just hide around the corner? I don’t really know what happens with Ben in the caverns either.

But despite all these things that I didn’t understand, I still really enjoyed reading this. (Spoilers ahead.) I didn’t hate Ringer as much this time around, probably due to the fact that she was pregnant!! I must have read that spoiler somewhere online because I knew that going in, but I forget how, and I wished I hadn’t because I wonder how long it would have taken me to figure it out. Sorry if I just ruined it for you, but I said there would be spoilers, and you’ve had six months to read this anyway. I loved Cassie and all her human flaws as always, which was why the ending made me REALLY SAD. I really wanted her to make it. Everyone else could have died for all I cared, but Cassie deserved life. Still, I was proud of her for the way she sacrificed herself for the rest of humanity. What an angel. I really liked Megan too. I liked how stubborn she was, and the way their military hierarchy was complete garbage to her. She was gonna do what she wanted to do, regardless of who thought they had some kind of authority, and she was so young. I really wish Yancey would have given us some chapters from her perspective! She had a lot of potential that Yancey missed out on.

This series is really impressive. The characters, the voices, the plot, the descriptions, it’s all done well. Not every book got five stars from me (just The 5th Wave did actually), but it is so far ahead of all the other major YA series that are popular right now, like The Hunger Games and Divergent. The next step for me is to check out the movie! I’ve always pictured Cassie as Clarke from The 100, so it’ll be interesting to see this portrayal of her.

3 comments
  1. Tiana said:

    I really enjoyed reading your review! I decided to tag you for the Beauty and the Beast book tag ! I think you would enjoy it! Here is the link:

Leave a Reply

