Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling

30065028Title: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Author: J. K. Rowling
Pages: 294
Year: 2016
Publisher: Little, Brown Books (Hachette)
Time taken to read: 3 days
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads synopsis: When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone… Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.

Fun fact about me: I love Harry Potter more than anyone else in the entire world. Anyway. Last year I gave a brief review of The Cursed Child, although I didn’t rate it, and now that I’m rating this one, I must face the fact that I didn’t rate The Cursed Child because I didn’t want to admit that I…didn’t…like it. Whoops. Anyway. We’re not gonna talk about that. We’re gonna talk about the fact that Fantastic Beasts was AWESOME. (Note: I’m only speaking about the book–I have yet to see the movie.) Characters: awesome. Creatures: awesome. Story: full of emotions. And Newt is so funny, especially in his scenes with Jacob–I cannot wait to see that translated on screen. Newt’s friendship with Jacob is really touching, and I like that that seems to take precedence over any romantic relationships. There is some romance, but it’s subtle, just hinted at really. And the kids…I think that’ll hit me harder in the movie, but they were powerful. It’s interesting–with the Harry Potter series, I connect deeply with the books and the movies equally, but perhaps because of the script format, while I did really enjoy this, I think that deep connection was missing. Still, I really felt J.K. Rowling in this one (unlike our last script/book). Oh, I was also a little bit confused about some of the more minor-ish characters, like Graves for instance–I didn’t really understand what he was trying to achieve. I’m hoping the movie will clear that up. The script format is just not my thing.

Anyway, most Goodreads reviewers are suggesting to watch the movie first, but I kind of like that I did it the other way around because now I get to see how closely my imagination and interpretation will match up with what the Fantastic Beasts movie team created. Perhaps I’ll watch it this weekend? And on Monday there are auditions for The Cursed Child on Broadway and I’ve been in like one high school play so I’m not exactly “qualified”, but like, have y’all seen my hair? It’s the perfect combo of Ron and Hermione’s, sooo Rose Granger-Weasley auditions–here I come! (I might be serious. We’ll find out.)

 

Leave a Reply

