In the Company of Women by Grace Bonney

28440194Title: In the Company of Women: Inspiration and Advice from over 100 Makers, Artists, and Entrepreneurs
Author: Grace Bonney
Pages: 368
Year: 2016
Publisher: Artisan (Workman)
Time taken to read: 8 months, 10 days
Rating: 5/5

Goodreads synopsisAcross the globe, women are embracing the entrepreneurial spirit and starting creative businesses. In the Company of Women profiles over 100 of these influential and creative women from all ages, races, backgrounds, and industries. Chock-full of practical, inspirational advice for those looking to forge their own paths, these interviews detail the keys to success (for example, going with your gut; maintaining meaningful and lasting relationships), highlight the importance of everyday rituals (meditating; creating a daily to-do list), and dispense advice for the next generation of women entrepreneurs and makers (stay true to what you believe in; have patience). The book is rounded out with hundreds of lush, original photographs of the women in their work spaces.

So, I have a wonderful cousin (who owns a really cool greeting card company that you should totally check out) who took me to this event last fall where Grace Bonney and a few of the people she interviewed for this book talked about what success means to them and how they’ve come to create and grow these successful creative businesses, and it was really neat and a great example of why I love living in New York, because there are all these cool, creative things happening all the time, and I was lucky enough to be a part of this one. It’s also really cool to know that I’m living among so many of the women interviewed in the book who live in New York, and that inspires me to try to rise to be one of them in a way.

In the Company of Women is a beautiful book, and I mean that very literally–the photos of the women and their workspaces are so colorful and amazing, and the layout of the text and various quotes makes this a really aesthetically pleasing book. But of course, the words are beautiful too. Every page is filled with inspiration, and though I have never felt the urge to start a business exactly, it made me think of my writing goals as a sort of business, and once I made that connection, I was able to relate to each interview and use the advice and inspiration to strive to be more creative and productive with my writing. I always have to remind myself that no one else will make me a writer. I have to make myself a writer by doing it. And that’s what all these women did too. They made themselves the thing they wanted to be because nobody else could do it for them.

Reading about these strong, powerful, intelligent women has been a wonderful experience. I want to say that it’s been motivational and inspirational, but I don’t feel like I’ve really earned the right to say that since I haven’t been doing much of my own creative work over the eight months that I’ve been flipping through this book. I’ve been working hard but not on the project that I would consider to be my “business”. So I will say that I hope that, along with my internship being over and therefore having a lot more free time, finishing this book will give me the motivation and inspiration to be creative and hard-working just like these fantastic role models.

I was going to say that I think all women who want to work in a creative field should read this book. Then I was going to say that all women should read this book. Then I realized that really everyone should read this book. Inspirational women don’t do what they do to inspire only women. Men should be inspired by them as well. We can all draw strength from female power!

Leave a Reply

